Forget the question, "What is blog?"

As I read the archived article, Just what is a blog, anyway? by Michael Conniff, in Online Journalism Review. I remember the reaction of a friend when I asked her if she has blog. What? What —- is that?

I had no ready answer. I said, blog is (for me) a journal online – though I was not sure of my answer.

I could have typed define: blog in the Google’s search field. I could have copied and pasted the Wiki’s definition of blog. But I didn’t. I found it inappropriate.

I am new to blogging. And I am quite sure that what I do is blogging – and I am a new blogger. My blog, Ambot lang! is one of millions of blog on Earth.

According to Wikipedia, citing its source, Technorati, there are 71 million blogs in May 2007. That’s almost equal to the entire population of the Philippines. And there may be more not tracked by Technorati!

The figure is amazing! There are many blogs on Earth but I observe that many still don’t understand what a blog is.

In Friendster, one can create a blog account. But some of my contacts’ blogs are “copy and paste”! (Most don’t attribute sources.)

Now, let’s go back to the question, what is blog?

For Wikipedia:

A blog (a portmanteau of web log) is a website where entries are written in chronological order and displayed in reverse chronological order.

For Webopedia:

A blog is a Web page that serves as a publicly accessible personal journal for an individual. Typically updated daily, blogs often reflect the personality of the author.

Michael Conniff quoting Jason Calcanis mentioned the three features of blog:

  • chronological order
  • unfiltered content
  • comments

For Jeff Jarvis as quoted in Just what is a blog, anyway?:

There is no need to define ‘blog.’ …A blog is merely a tool that lets you do anything from change the world to share your shopping list. People will use it however they wish. And it is way too soon in the invention of uses for this tool to limit it with a set definition. ..Blogs are whatever they want to be. Blogs are whatever we make them. Defining ‘blog’ is a fool’s errand.


I agree Jarvis’ contention. Now, I don’t worry if I can’t define blog instantly. I can tell you common features of blog.

If some ask me again, what is blog, I will tell him:

Read my blog. It’s a blog. If you read my blog, you will get an idea what a blog is. If you explore other blogs, you will begin to understand what is blog.

Forget your desire to define the word, blog!

______________________________________________
Jerry G. Gervacio|Mandaue City|Contact: Send Mail
Blog I author (Bisaya): Ambot Lang!
______________________________________________

Leave a Reply

