My Prayers

My mother taught me (us, her children) how to pray. Now, as grown-ups, she continue to remind us to pray. She recalled how prayers transform our family. It is her prayer that keep the bond among us in the family.

A year ago, a friend told me to pray for a good wife, as he did. He just made me smile.

I pray for peace in Mindanao (so that every Lumad, Muslim, and Christian lives in prosperity). I pray for my family, my friends. I pray for serenity.

I learn (by heart) the serenity prayer two years ago. Since then, I say the Serenity Prayer whenever I am happy, whenever I am sad, confused, and feel uncertainties. I say the serenity prayer when I feel that temptations are becoming forceful. Serenity Prayer becomes part of my life.

Why do I pray? My simple answer: I pray because I have faith that I need to pray.

Prayer is talking with my God (as I understood him). When I pray, I feel that I open my heart to the Almighty. True prayer is honest, humble and personal reminded Ma’am Alma Edullantes, one of my

Religion teacher in Santa Maria Goretti College (my high school). Angel Ramos, a soft-spoken woman I meet (and eventually become a good friend of mine) in Cebu echoed Ma’am Alma’s reminder and added a biblical text: “Ask, and it will be given to you;search, and you will find; knock, and the door will be opened to you…” (Matt 7:7)

Prayer is the greatest miracle in my life. I could have been among the deads without the prayers of those who love me so much – my family, my close friends.

I have strong faith that God answers my prayers. God always do.

Here is the Serenity Prayer:

God, grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change
the courage to change the things I can
and the wisdom to know the difference.

It is indeed a simple prayer but its effect on me is eternal.

______________________________________________
Jerry G. Gervacio|Mandaue City|Contact: Send Mail
Blog I author (Bisaya): Ambot Lang!
______________________________________________

Leave a Reply

