The 2010 Prayer

President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo

One of the President’s men prays:

Bless the President so we (she) will have forbearance, good health, the tolerance to lead this nation up to 2010 and perhaps who knows even beyond…

And the president whispers: Oh my God!

The prayer of Press Secretary Jesus Dureza may be a heartfelt invocation. Dureza may have his noble intention but for his God’s sake, all those words must be said in private, in the calmness of the night, when he is about to sleep in peace.

What a %^$#$!, I tell myself while trying to mask my big grin with peace and serenity.

Blame me, because like President Arroyo, I pretended to be surprised. Surprising eh?

Because prayers are heard best when done in private, President Arroyo requested that Dureza’s prayer will be “off the record”.

But God already heard it. And God might be granting it. Oh my God!

Press Secetary Jesus Dureza

God has a lot of sense of humor, Dureza insisted. God must have been laughing out loud (LOL).

Dureza added, it was a light prayer. If (the others) did not get it right, they have no sense of humor.

I get it Mr. Dureza. Look at me, I’m laughing out loud because I get what you mean. See? I have sense of humor!

3 thoughts on “The 2010 Prayer

Leave a Reply

