Cory apologizes to Erap: EDSA II a mistake

With due respect to former President Corazon “Cory” Aquino, I’d like to tell her straight that she did MAJOR lapses of judgment when she asked forgiveness from ousted president and plunder-guilty, Joseph “Erap” Estrada and saying that EDSA 2 was a mistake.

Cory apologized to Erap for helping civil society oust him in January 2001, although Erap had been convicted of plunder by the Sandiganbayan.

I am disappointed and saddened with Cory’s apology. Many of us who supported with the movement to oust Erap feel sad with Cory’s remarks made in public. No, I was not in Edsa in 2001. I was in Cebu that time but by principle, I did support and made my voice counted in Cebu’s Fuente Osmena circle. I have no regrets that I did it.

After hearing Cory’s apology, the civil society groups expressed that they have no regrets.

Cory’s remark was a public relations disaster. She was actually putting her credibility at risk. Now, getting hints from people’s reaction, Cory’s camp now claim that Cory was just making jokes.  Was it really intended to illicit laughter from an audience composed of highly-respected personality? I doubt. Cory really mean it.

I totally disagree Cory’s opinion that Edsa 2 was a mistake. It was right to oust an incompetent president. I was right to oust a leader who corrupted. Remember, Erap was guilty of plunder. That was just one proof. If Estrada continue to led the Philippines, we could have suffered more.

I am not saying that Gloria being the successor of Erap. It was the ouster of Erap that save us. Now, who needs to say sorry?

5 thoughts on “Cory apologizes to Erap: EDSA II a mistake

  1. ” Now, getting hints from people’s reaction, Cory’s camp now claim that Cory was just making jokes. ”

    Nobody’s laughing. The tongue-in-cheek humor as justification falls flat.

  2. I have never been a fan of Mrs. Aquino. Then and now. But finally, she did something that have given me more respect for her wisdom, grace and humility.

    I think with all that is happening with the Arroyo Government, it made Erap’s wrongdoings seem miniscule and immaterial.

    The Arroyo government has made a joke of every Filipino’s sacrifice, past, present and future. They have made a joke out of every Filipino as well. In the future, no matter how bad we had it, people will see how we had so much better before this “Evita” came to power.

  3. I think the reason why Cory apologized to Erap was because she knew that time she was dying. She was diagnosed with Stage 4 Colon Cancer on March 2008. She apologized to Erap on December 2008. That was probably one of her ways of asking for forgiveness from the people she “offended”. I really admire her with that gesture. Although it had a political contradiction, she set that aside and humbly asked for forgiveness from the man she asked to resign in 2001. This is beyond politics, it’s pure moral and righteousness. I really admire her for that. She knows she has little time left that’s why she did that. Rest in peace Cory. Thanks alot for all you did for the Philippines

Leave a Reply

