RAFI launches the fifth triennial awards

The Ramon Aboitiz Foundation, Inc. (RAFI) has launched the 5th Ramon Aboitiz Foundation Triennial Awards for the Visayas and Mindanao at Casa Gorordo Museum, Parian, Cebu City on December 3, 2009.

RAFI Triennial Awards trophy

RAFI Triennial Awards Trophy

This starts the acceptance of nominations for the award’s two categories, the Ramon Aboitiz Award for Exemplary Individual and the Eduardo Aboitiz Award for Outstanding Institution.

Anyone can nominate individuals or institutions by filling out and submitting a short nomination form at all 2GO offices in the Visayas and Mindanao.

Nomination form can also be downloaded from the RAFI website. The deadline of nomination is on July 16, 2010.

The RAFI Triennial Awards recognizes individuals and institutions who have committed themselves to build a more humane, equitable and caring society. It honors those who become instrument in changing the lives of the less-privileged, reflect the philanthropic, humanitarian and holistic ideals and values of the RAFI founders, Don Ramon Aboitiz and his son Don Eduardo Aboitiz.

Roberto E. Aboitiz, in his message, lamented on the recent events in Maguindanao but was very optimistic by saying, despite the apathy and indifference of some people, we have lot of good work taking place in our country. Roberto E. Aboitiz is the president of the Ramon Aboitiz Foundation.

Roberto Aboitiz added that through the Triennial Awards, RAFI will be able to promote the circle of ‘thinkers and doers of good’.

The Triennial Awards started since 1996 to commemorate the 30th anniversary of the founding of RAFI in 1966.

Because majority of the awards given in the Philippines have gone to individuals and organizations based in the National Capital Region (NCR) and Luzon, RAFI focuses to the Visayas and Mindanao regions where many outstanding individuals and organizations should also be recognized, rewarded and promoted.

Among the Triennial Awards laureate is the Cebu CFI Community Cooperative, a billionaire cooperative based in Cebu City. Ret. Judge Esperanza Garcia told how the they started the coop in 1970 with only 200 pesos until its asset reached to 2.2 billion pesos making Cebu CFI Community Cooperative one of the biggest cooperative in the country. The cooperative had already helped and changed the lives of thousands of individuals and families.

Here is the complete list of Triennial Awards laureate:

Individual category:

  • Warlito Laquihon (1999)
  • Eddie M. Alih (2003)
  • Ramon S. Piang, Sr. (2006)
  • Chelsea R. Cacaldo, M.D. (2009)

Institution category:

  • Lamac Multi-Purpose Cooperative (1999)
  • Cebu CFI Community Cooperative (2003)
  • Lihok Pilipina Foundation, Inc. (2006)
  • Visayan Forum Foundation, Inc. (2009)

The next laureate will be the one you have nominated. Be a hero and nominate an unsung hero in your community who has affected positive change.

1 thought on “RAFI launches the fifth triennial awards

  1. Pingback: Cebu’s Haven: Hidden Valley Mountain Resort « Third Wave

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s