First World Bloggers Day happens in Cebu

May 2, 2010 is World Bloggers’ Day declares Cebu Bloggers Society. This would the first time such world blogging event is observed.

The first World Bloggers’ Day, as published in BigNew.Biz, will take place on May 2, in the Queen City of the South — Cebu, Philippines.

World Bloggers Day design by Jim Villaflores

In the same article, World Bloggers’ Day will

feature the Blogger of the Day and the Best Cast-away Outfit Award while doing live blogging and many more. All bloggers, individuals or groups, are encouraged to participate in this remarkable day of the year!

All bloggers are invited to join this event! If you are in Cebu, you can come-and-meet us at Parkmall in Mandaue City, Cebu.

Credit: World Bloggers’ badge is designed by Jim Villaflores.

I support Earth Hour 2010

I’ll take action on March 27, 2010! I support Earth Hour 2010. At 8:30 PM, I’ll turn off my computer and stop navigating the net for an hour or more. I’ll turn off the lights and go out and talk with friends.

Earth Hour 2010

Whether you are an individual, a business, a school or a city, you can show your support for Earth Hour by turning off your lights at 8:30 PM on March 27 wherever you are on the planet.

Here is the official video of Earth Hour 2010.

The website, suggests ways how you can show your support to Earth Hour 2010.

About Earth Hour

On March 28, 2009, Earth Hour became the biggest mass action on Earth! There were 88 countries and 4,088 cities participated in Earth Hour 2009. That was ten times more cities than Earth Hour 2008 had!

I am not the only one who loves Earth. You can attest that because you too, love our Earth! Aren’t you? Cebu Bloggers Society supports Earth Hour 2010. I hope other groups will support as well.

Celebrate one great Cebu; Celebrate one great Cebu Bloggers Society!

Let me write something very personal. My favorite number is 14. But I won’t say fourteen; I say katorse!

So katorse sounds good, and excites many (not just the Goryo’s). If I sprinkle it by whispering, Pebrero katorse with my Katorse, would you love to turn sweet?

But I’ve been there, so I’ll go to more exciting (titillating sounds indecent, so I won’t use it but love to) event. Pebrero katorse. It’s the second founding anniversary of Cebu Bloggers Society!

We call it, CBS @2: The Cebu Bloggers Society 2nd Anniversary! Yes, Cebu Bloggers Society (CBS) was founded Pebrero katorse!

Was it a coincidence? Or the forces of love conspired to inspired Mark Monta to plant the seeds of Cebu Bloggers Society on the date the lovers celebrate.

It was Pebrero katorse, 2008. I can’t forget that.

I just wonder why Mark hadn’t thought of Cebu Bloggers Alliance or Cebu Bloggers Association? Well, lets just say, it was fate that Cebu Bloggers Society was conceived.

Now, I am saying, it is the bond of love of blogging, and of Cebu that best answer why Cebu Bloggers Society was born Pebrero katorse.

As CBS member, one thing I’m proud most is the commitment of each member to blog responsibly and to take part on making one great Cebu!

Blogger ko bai! So here I am, blogging Cebu Bloggers. Leaping forward: CBS @14? in the future? of course, i-blog nako na bai!

So on Pebrero katorse,CBS members will meet (but I love to use converge) to celebrate CBS @2 at the Celebration Hall of SM Storyland, Lower Ground Floor, SM City Cebu.

Of course,  there are institutions, enterprise, and individuals who celebrate with us. And I would like (of course CBS say this, too) to thank SM City Cebu, SM City Cebu Foodcourt, SM Storyland, Golden Bowl, King Wah Chinese Cuisine, Mama Gie,,, Balamban Liempo.

And also to Maribago Bluewater Beach Resort,, and

Happy anniversary, Cebu Bloggers Society!

Cebu Bloggers Society

I am member of CBS since February 14, 2008. When you look at me and when you read my blog, you got a glimpse of CBS. I am also who CBS is.

Cebu Bloggers Society:

  • Cebu Bloggers Society
  • CBS Forums
  • CBS Mailing List
  • Agnes Jimenez
  • Aileen Estoquia
  • Aimee Segun
  • Allahn Joyce Bensali
  • Andrew S. Buenaviaje
  • Armando N. Filosopo Jr.
  • Bert Padilla
  • Bryan Karl Yuson
  • Clarence Mongado
  • Debbie Rojonan
  • Deutche Atil Mark Monta
  • Earl Pablo Zacarias
  • Ethelbert Ouano
  • Febryl Lor Zulla
  • Galleca E. Baylon
  • Gerrymie Tampus
  • Guada Esmena
  • Haide S. Ardiente
  • Imelith G. Parpan
  • Jan Mckingley Hilado
  • Jerry Gervacio
  • Jim Villaflores
  • Joemill Veloso Flordelis
  • Jorich Ponio
  • Jose Blair Arciete
  • Jun Rey Parajes
  • Karen Veloso
  • Ken Jesryl Caballero
  • Kevin Ray Chua
  • Kristian Etulle
  • Mark Alessandrew Abitona
  • Mark Gallardo
  • McBilly Wilford Sy
  • Michael Sinjin Pineda
  • Mikyu Maglasang
  • Nancy Cudis
  • Nick Nichelle Dael
  • Noelle Dotillos
  • Orville Tadle
  • Prince Ryan Gilig
  • Raymund A. Banaag
  • Renalyn Espiritu
  • Reuel de Egurrola
  • Reynold Salceda
  • Ricky Louie de la Cruz
  • Ruben Rallos
  • Vernon Joseph Go
  • Wilhelmina Sarawi
  • Willand Cuna
  • Zyra Brion
  • Zyza Esmena
  • Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ): More online journalists are jailed

    The Committee to Protect Journalists (CPJ) reports that 45% off all media workers jailed worldwide are bloggers, Web-based reporters, or online editors. This is the first time that online journalists represent the largest professional category in CPJ’s prison census.

    According to CPJ’s data, at least 56 online journalists are jailed worldwide. For the first time this surpasses the number of print journalists imprisonment tally. In it’s report, CPJ noted: The number of imprisoned online journalists has steadily increased since CPJ recorded the first jailed Internet writer in its 1997 census.

    CPJ Executive Director Joel Simon was quoted saying:

    Online journalism has changed the media landscape and the way we communicate with each other,but the power and influence of this new generation of online journalists has captured the attention of repressive governments around the world, and they have accelerated their counterattack.

    There is more interesting points in CPJ report. According to CPJ’s data, 45 of 56 journalists on CPJ’s census are freelancers; most of them work online. These freelancers are not employees of media companies and often do not have the legal resources or political connections that might help them gain their freedom. The number of imprisoned freelancers has risen more than 40% in the last two years.

    The future of journalism is online. Blogging including online social networks have become influencial as illustrated in the recent US presidential campaigns and elections.

    In the Philippines, new media (online journalism) has also emerged to become a forceful influence in forming public opinions.

    As the 2010 presidential elections come closer, it is expected that political blogging become more and more aggressive.

    One political blog that catch the attention of many online readers is the Mar Roxas for President in 2010 blog by a college sophomore, Kevin Ray Chua. His blog was the first blog about 2010 polls.

    In Cebu, bloggers formed the Cebu Blogger’s Society which partly aimed to help each blogger-member. But the group has still much to work on to ready itself on the scenario when freedom of free flow of information is curtailed – and on worst scenario when a blogger is sent to jail.